The Doctor’s Most Defining Speech About Kindness

DaPenguinNinja
2 min readJul 16, 2017

--

The Doctor’s Most Defining Speech About Kindness

“Winning? Is that what you think it’s about? I’m not trying to win. I’m not doing this because I want to beat someone, or because I hate someone, or because I want to blame someone. It’s not because it’s fun. God knows it’s not because it’s easy. It’s not even because it works because it hardly ever does.. I DO WHAT I DO BECAUSE IT’S RIGHT! Because it’s decent! And above all, it’s kind! It’s just that.. Just kind. If I run away today, good people will die. If I stand and fight, some of them might live. Maybe not many, maybe not for long. Hey, you know, maybe there’s no point to any of this at all. But it’s the best I can do. So I’m going to do it. And I will stand here doing it until it kills me. And you’re going to die too! Some day.. And how will that be? Have you thought about it? What would you die for? Who I am is where I stand.. Where I stand is where I fall. Stand with me. These people are terrified. Maybe we can help a little. Why not, just at the end, just be kind?” — The Doctor

I think this has to be the most defining traits of the “immortal” Doctor. Thru all the rage, sadness, fear, happiness, shame, pity, suffering, jealously, joy, disgust, expectation, disappointment, The Doctor stays kind. And we see it through out the series when we expect otherwise as we project our own emotions and habits on other people.Living in this time and seeing all the injustice in the world is next to impossible not to internalize the bigotry and hate especially on any social media and news site.

The Doctor seems to be the most human of us all and he’s a work of fiction. Or maybe he is just overshadowed by all the ugliness of the world. Not only to save a friend but an enemy as well. So regardless if its good or bad, its just kind. It’s how we deal and carry our issues with the world. We are all together and yet still alone in the end. It’s always easy to pick the correct answer during an exam or in a group. But the moral decision is a bit harder in the situation. We do desire self preservation.

I just want to live long enough to do what I can and hope it inspires something good in others. But I won’t live long enough to see that effect…affect? I suppose that’s what a legacy is based on for future generations. So without hope, without witness, without reward. Kindness like forgiveness and trust takes strength. It can’t be handled by weak people.

--

--

DaPenguinNinja

Electrical Engineering student getting back to his INFP turned INFJ ways